Memories

Having seen a few Facebook posts this week about books people read in their childhood, it got me thinking about all the old books I’ve got squirrelled away in my bookcase upstairs. So I went on a journey that took me back to my youth, looking through all those worn copies of my well-read, beloved books that accompanied me through good times and bad.

First of all, Enid Blyton. I used to have so many of her books but only a fraction of them are in still in my bookcase, many having been lost when moving house, etc. I loved reading the adventures of the Famous Five; I wanted to be friends with Anne, own an intelligent dog like Timmy, and be brave like George. But I also remember reading many of her other books – has there ever been such a prolific writer? Probably the only series I didn’t like was the Secret Seven, for some reason those books didn’t appeal to me at all! Here’s what remains of my original collection.

IMG_20170505_134410

Another series that I absolutely loved and read over and over again was the Narnia books by C S Lewis. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read them but it’s a lot! How I longed to find a secret doorway into Narnia when I was young, and meet all those wonderful, fascinating characters. And to fly on a winged horse! To hear words of wisdom from Aslan in times of need. These books were my salvation even during my hormonal teenage years, somehow I still found comfort in them. This is my original collection, looking rather battered but loved all the more for it.

IMG_20170505_134515

The next three books are a bit more random, but still a large part of my childhood. Watership Down was, and still is, one of my favourite books – the way Richard Adams created rabbit legends, rabbit words, and enabled you to live in the rabbit world as if it was the most natural thing, is incredible. Such a wonderful, imaginative story told by a great writer. Alice In Wonderland and Through The Looking Glass are classical stories that every child should read, even nowadays. And my copy has been read quite a few times! The red book is called The Golden Wonder Book – I have no idea how it came to be mine, but it is full of classical fairy tales, shortened Shakespeare works, poems…a bit of everything. I don’t think I’ve ever read it all the way through, and it’s falling apart now, but I remember flicking through it often when I was young.

IMG_20170505_134623

When I was growing up, I was passionate about horses. I loved them (still do, in fact!). And this is reflected in these books I found in my bookcase, again just a fraction of what I used to own. I have lost some of the Mary O’Hara ones, and will replace them eventually, as I remember how beautifully written they were. The large green book is a horse encyclopedia my Nan gave me when I was twelve or thirteen, full of every bit of information about horses I could ever need!

IMG_20170505_134917

Last of all, although they’re not my original copies, I bought these books for my sons to enjoy when they were younger. We read them together at bedtime, and later on they carried on reading them by themselves. And even though my sons are grown up now, I know they have fond memories of these books!

IMG_20170505_135018

So that’s it. My collection of books from my childhood that I wanted to share with you. And now I really want to go back and read them all! What about you, did you read any of these? Share in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Memories

Add yours

  1. I had so many more, I really regret not keeping them. But these ones were the most special ones for me 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

